What's New

Kyle Orla and I made a series of videos about Spider John, his guitars and career, and just how important his music has been to a large number of people including Bob Dylan and Bonnie Raitt (also myself and Kyle). Please follow the link to Kyle’s youtube channel to see the videos, then head on out to the record store and pick up a couple Spider John Koerner records ... or stream ‘em ... Thanks John!
>>>Check out the videos HERE.

Charlie recently released his first work of fiction through Southwestern Wisconsin-based Ramshackle Press. Readers are treated to a deep dive into the big picture of a group of Charlie’s songs. Like the old, well-hewn gospel songs, there is both darkness and light. There are tales of childhood, families, cantankerous uncles and aunts, and slightly lost individuals. Through keyholes opening into rays of light, the reader watches the lives of everyday humans unrolling in unheroic yet poetic and unvarnished ways that those that love Parr’s songs will cherish.

New album 'Last of the Better Days Ahead' is now available on CD, LP, and digital. Order/stream HERE.

“'Last of the Better Days Ahead' is a way for me to refer to the times I’m living in. I’m getting on in years, experiencing a shift in perspective that was once described by my mom as ‘a time when we turn from gazing into the future to gazing back at the past, as if we’re adrift in the current, slowly turning around.’ Some songs came from meditations on the fact that the portion of our brain devoted to memory is also the portion responsible for imagination, and what that entails for the collected experiences that we refer to as our lives. Other songs are cultivated primarily from the imagination, but also contain memories of what may be a real landscape, or at least one inspired by vivid dreaming. The album represents one full rotation of the boat in which we are adrift—looking ahead for a last look at the better days to come, then being turned around to see the leading edge of the past as it fades into the foggy dreamscape of our real and imagined histories.”

Check out the new video for "817 Oakland Avenue" that was created by the immensely talented Drew Christie. Drew's work has been featured in The Criterion Collection, The New York Times, The Atlantic, Sundance TV and Vanity Fair among others:

Other News

  • On Tour

    Charlie is back on tour! Click HERE for the latest tour dates.

  • KFAI show

    Thank you KFAI for the chance to present some of my favorite songs each Monday at noon on their streaming service at KFAI.org.

  • Americana Highways interview

    Abraham Smith (of the Snarlin’ Yarns) and Charlie discuss the Present of Presence.

  • BGS Podcast

    Listen to Zach Lupetin's interview with Charlie on The Show On The Road podcast, presented by The Bluegrass Situation.

  • Bandcamp

    Most of the albums and some exclusive recordings are available digitally on Bandcamp.

  • Spotify

    Stream the latest releases Last of the Better Days Ahead, CHARLIE PARR, Dog, and more on Charlie's Spotify page.

Mailing List